Urban Totem

I started a new sketchbook with the theme  “Urban totem”. It can be anything that make me think of a totem, the vertical shape, the height or the colour and arms of a fire hydrant. I find electrical poles very interesting to look at, specially in North  American cities so logically mapped where these tree trunks entangled in so many wires bring an anarchist human touch.

I did these drawings thinking of Bernard who’s job is exactly that, dealing with poles and lines and electricity. He noticed my first drawing of an electrical pole .His blog:  lignard des étoiles du sud

J’ai commencé un nouveau sketchbook avec comme thème “Totems urbains”. C’est tout ce qui me fait penser à un totem, par la forme verticale, la hauteur ou la couleur et les bras d’une bouche d’ incendie. Je trouve les poteaux électriques trés intéressant visuellement, particulièrement dans les villes nord-américaines au plan si logique. Ces troncs d’arbres entortillés de multiples fils  apportent une petite touche anarchique très humaine.

J’ai fait ces dessins en pensant à Bernard qui s’occupe justement de poteaux , fils et électricité. Il avait remarqué mon  premier dessin de poteau électrique. Son blog :lignard des etoiles du sud

19 thoughts on “Urban Totem

  1. That’s a fantastic theme for a sketchbook! It’s things like this that are so common we don’t even see them in our environment every day. You are making these totems into wonderful art works!

  2. These are the most wonderful pictures – I absolutely love them 🙂 you’ve made my day. My favourite is the fire hydrant and 2nd and third ones. I’ll have to show Michael – they are just his type of thing too.

  3. Great concept and drawings. I am going to enjoy seeing what you add to this.

    i like the first larger drawing- it looks a little desolate with the bare tree branch and wires

  4. Bravo pour cet ensemble ! Le premier pourrait tout droit sortir d’un western. Quant au 5è il me fait tellement penser à Montréal où j’ai passé un bien bon séjour (ma nièce y vit) ! J’ai hâte de voir la suite !

  5. Oh, I think this will be a fantastic sketchbook to flip through when you’re done! It’s a wonderful theme that I would never have thought of!

  6. […] leave a comment » I started a new sketchbook with the theme  "Urban totem". It can be anything that make me think of a totem, the vertical shape, the height or the colour and arms of a fire hydrant. I find electrical poles very interesting to look at, specially in North  American cities so logically mapped where these tree trunks entangled in so many wires bring an anarchist human touch. I did these drawings thinking of Bernard who's job is exactly that, dealing w … Read More […]

  7. Oh, ça en jette! J’adore le thème, tes dessins sont super, et la couverture avec ce fond rouge, hyper graphique, vraiment géniale! Je trouve le premier dessin extra, aussi, avec les formes de l’arbre et du poteau/lampadaire qui se répondent!

Leave a comment