The critic eye

I always say to my participants in workshops “please your eye”. Your eye is your best critic, not your mind. At first glance I know if I like it or not, and I try to stick to that first impression. I did this portrait  a first time, working on it, reworking on it and finally went in the garbage can. Just did not please my eye. This morning I redid the portrait from memory and my eye was more satisfied.

Je dis toujours aux participants de mes ateliers ” faites plaisir à votre oeil”. Votre oeil est votre meilleur critique, pas votre esprit. Au premier coup d’oeil je sais si j’aime ou pas et j’essaie de coller le plus possible à cette première impression. J’ai fait une première fois ce portrait, le travaillant et retravaillant pour finalement le mettre à la poubelle. Mon oeil ne vibrait pas. Ce matin j’ai refait le portrait de mémoire et mon oeil était plus satisfait.kimmi

2 thoughts on “The critic eye

Leave a Reply

