The art of feeding.

cake aux olives, with sardines and tarragon

The art of feeding can be applied to cooking and arting.

I know that arting is not a proper word, it was used by Rick from 19planets warning me that it was not a word but I find it so good I am using it anyway.

Cooking and arting have many common points. They both feed the eyes, the heart, the soul and you can get very creative when you practice them, when you get familiar with a technique.

The above picture is a “cake aux olives”, a favorite of French cuisine, cake referring to the rectangular shape and not to the fact that it can be sweet or salty.

cake aux olives with ham and cornichons

I have done this recipe many times and change things  every time I use it. I change the shape, the ingredients, the special little highlights. It is like painting a series. The subject is the same, but there are changes in the background colours, in the light and in the special little highlights.

These salted cakes are delicious, easy and fast to do. For the finale, why not serving homemade mustard? So easy to do, I am  wondering why I did not do it sooner. I found a very nice recipe here

http://honest-food.net/2010/10/18/how-to-make-mustard/

home made mustard

The recipe for ” cake aux olives”:

1 jar of olives (stone removed) about 1 cup of olives
150 g cheese ( cheddar, comté, gruyere..etc)
150 g ham
4 eggs
150 g flour ( about 1 cup)
15 cl milk (about 1/2 cup)
2 teaspoons baking powder
4 tablespoons of olive oil
salt pepper
mix flour and baking powder, incorporate eggs, then milk, then oil.
Dice cheese, ham.
incorporate cheese, ham , olives to the batter,
salt and pepper to taste.
Bake at 350 F ( 180C) for 1h.
this is the base recipe that I use all the time and I change to what I have in my kitchen.
No olives, add cornichons or capres.
No cheddar, works well with even fresh cheese like goat cheese.
No ham, works well with sardines ( then I use the oil in the can of sardines and not the olive oil mentioned) or a tin of tuna
Works well in any type of pan, pretty in a cake pan, makes nice slices. I use  parchemin paper to have no trouble in getting the cake out.

9 thoughts on “The art of feeding.

  1. aloha Benedicte – wow. that looks soooooo good. i like the way you art (okay i’m now following the verb we’ve made of the word “art” too – which is again incorrect. . however… bwahahahaha i like i as an action verb) – and cook. yes, creativity is a way of life we almost can not get away from. so… might as well have fun with it, yes? way fun, Bendicte, way fun. aloha

Leave a Reply

