Self-portrait?

The other day, nothing was working. the paper was on the table, the brush in the hand, and the mind going blank, blank,blank…then, like a breeze of fresh air I remembered the best thing I red in all those “how to” art book”: Don’t think,just do it, draw a line, a dot, a splash of paint…there is a mirror, on the table , for self drawing attempts. The brush started tracing on the mirror my image, then I laid a manilla paper to transfer the ink, added a few lines. I find these portrait very intriguing.

L’autre jour rien ne marchait. Le papier sur la table, le pinceau à la main et l’esprit dans le néan, le désert. Et je me suis rappellée le meilleur conseil que j’ai lu dans tous ces livres de techniques sur l’art: ne pas penser, simplement faire. Sur la table il y a un miroir pour les essais d’auto-portrait. Le pinceau a commencé e retracer mon image sur le miroir puis une feuille de papier manille, comme un buvard, pour transferer l’encre, ajouté quelques lignes. Je trouve ces portraits trés intriguant.

4 thoughts on “Self-portrait?

  1. Merci Aletha,
    j’ai eu la même impression mais avec ses portraits au crayon (line drawing).
    Je n’oserais jamais comparer ce que je fais avec Matisse mais, dans ce cas-ci je n’y suis pas pour grand chose , c’est un merveilleux hazard.

  2. what a lovely idea! the portraits look very nice. i’m adding this to my list of things to try out : ) thank you. enjoyed going through you recent life drawings too. great new work.

Leave a Reply

